On Goals and Dreams

I just joined a new gym. Its called Lifetime Fitness and it is HUGE! Lifetime is a chain of gyms that tries to encourage members to live healthy in all aspects of their lives. As such it has a built in cafe, spa, pool, rock climbing area, not to mention a ton of innovative equipment. While I love the concept, Lifetime is a lot more expensive than other gyms I have belonged to in the past. Not just the dues– but the cafe. It makes you feel like you are shopping at Disney World– “Really, $4 for a bottle of water?” Besides that I really love it.

I feel so much more motivated at this gym. I’ve actually switched up my routine which was getting stale since I had basically been doing the same thing for the past year and a half. Here’s some changes I made:

1. Started using the heavy machines in the weight section– i.e. the smith machine, the super squat, barbell chest press etc.

2. Increased resistance– I had been lifting 10 lbs. for shoulder/bicep/tricep dumbbell exercises, now I am up to 15lbs.

3. Increased variety– so many new machines and pieces of equipment I can’t wait to try them all. I got to use the TRX again and love the ab coaster for pikes and plank exercises.

When I was doing my personal training certification, they taught us that there were a few ways to change up the same exercise: change the weight, change the direction, change the timing and change the stability. I have been underusing these variations but now I am trying to switch it up each time I work out to challenge my muscles in different ways.

New beginnings are always fun and that brings me to my next topic– why I wanted to start at this new gym. Since I had Cyrus, I have been trying to workout at home daily. I bought workout DVDs, equipment and I have my elliptical for cardio. However, its been 7 months and I really find myself getting bored with the same routine and I find it much more motivating to be surrounded by others. I knew that in order to take my fitness to the next level I needed to get back to the gym.

Its also about following my personal dreams. I always knew I wanted to do something big with my life but I was always unsure about how to get there. After doing a lot of soul searching I really think that fitness is the path I want to take. I want to help others learn how to get fit, feel better and love the way that they look. Jillian Michaels, Tracy Anderson, Jackie Warner, Tracy Mallett and other fitness “stars” are my role models. That is what I want to do.

I have been thinking for a while about how I can achieve that and I decided to take baby steps. The first step I took was educating myself– I’ve bought, read and watched countless fitness books, dvds and webinars. This is one step that is a constant process as one should never stop learning. The next step I took was starting this blog. Ultimately I hope that it is a way for me to reach other people to teach and learn from them. Now I have joined a gym and am looking to start teaching Pilates classes there. I can’t wait! My audition is next Tuesday and I am SUPER nervous. I really want to impress them. I’m no where near my goal, but at least I am taking steps in the right direction.

Do you have a goal? What are you doing to work toward it.

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

